Sixxen

In his percussion sextet Pléiades (1979) Iannis Xenakis calls for a special instrument, the so-called Sixxen.

The name was created by the composer and originated from the combination of the two words "Six" and "Xenakis". His work Pléiades is today considered one of the milestones of percussion literature. Iannis Xenakis has noted his indications of what sixxes are and how they should or should not be tuned in the score. He writes that for each of the six percussionists (players A to F) there must be 19 metal sounds, which need not be tuned either chromatic or diatonic. Each of the metal scales should not be exactly identical from player to player but should vary slightly. 

Sixxen - LUNASON LINE

LUNASON has taken a new direction in terms of sound with its specially developed sixxes, since, among other things, it uses aluminum plates instead of iron as metal. If all musicians play on many different sound plates at the same time, one can hear the clear strokes and, thanks to the exactly constant frequencies of the individual plates, every note.

On the other hand, a so-called "Drone" is created, which makes this LUNASON LINE so special. Since the aluminium plates are full like bells and reverberate for about 15 seconds when struck hard, there is a strong, long-lasting interference between the notes.

This special sound experience is supported by the tuning of the plates. The intervals from tone to tone are smaller than half tone steps but larger than quarter tone steps. The result is a very natural sound scale, which seems less complex than quarter tone scales but stranger than usual half tone scales.

The six resulting scales vary very slightly from Sixxen A to Sixxen F, so that if all six musicians play the same notes on their sixxes as Xenakis wishes, there will be additional slight interference between the instruments.

The frequency spectrum in which the Sixxes - LUNASON LINE are tuned lies in the range CIS5 - G5. This frequency range, which is rather high for sixxes, was deliberately chosen as a contrast to the much lower skin instruments that are found in pléiades. 

Sound sample

Métaux from Pléiades by Iannis Xenakis

Click here for the CD: GENUIN / I tunes

Transport case

Inside the "Metasound"

The Lunason Sixxens are Anti-Academic Percussion Instruments!
Colours: 
yellow-brown, pearly - from Binntalfor hearing. Modular structure pitch systems. 

By vibrating, they project Hyperbolic Parables of sound molecules. Microtones. The Anteroom, Concrete, of Iannis Xenakis' magnetic strip. 

Composed of “SIX” and “XENAKIS”, the LUNASON SIX-XEN is a musical instrument with a determined sound in a structure with six original ranges of intervals. The timbre is rich, exciting and with mysterious, well-prolonged resonances. The new consciousness of sound. A reflection of the spirit of the time. 

Researched for years for the six percussionists of Pleiades (1978), evoked by the simantras of Persephassa (1969) and the choirs of Oresteia (1965-66), it is the sound physics of a protean creator, the permanent and unique metasound – out of time and space – of the Iannis Xenakis galaxy.

 

Reconstructed and interpreted today, with the conscious technical mastery of Domenico Melchiorre and his LUNASON LINE, is the human contact with the “nature of sound”. An immense echo of origins... “The great impression I had when listening to the simantro in the monastery of Santa Lavra in the Peloponnese” (Xenakis, 1955). The extension of an ancient and surprising idiophone. 

Three cubits, ab ovo, of a curved and resonant beech beam or a thick sheet of iron, beaten by Noah, three times a day, after he had finished the Ark, to announce the flood, to purge the soul. In all Orthodox countries, in Greek-Catholic places of worship, the Greek Semantron or the Romanian Toacă... are struck at different pitch points to fill those Architectures with a slow, but gradually accelerated rhythm-timbral cell, dilated, varied, evolved and thinned out finally, to sink into silence, to delimit time: Out of time, In time, Temporal... and space: of Action (liturgical) and the Everyday.

 

The Sixxens are a fusion of Art and Science to compose Culture. Musical means to express, in the same way, the human intelligence and that “which is” in the sound. “It is not the ear that hears, but the intelligence that understands.” They are calculation become style. 

They are radical expansions. Quantisations of continuous mathematical functions. The rendering and "putting into sounds" of a far more general Thought: pure Logic, the Logic of numbers, even the Logic of intuition. 

 

The Sixxen sound becomes architecture and sound architecture, aluminium sound and sound – becomes metallisedChance and Stochastic Music... reintroduce, in tune, the timeless structure. 

The nineteen bars (Sixxen F) with irregularly distributed frequencies – from C#5 (-12 cents) to G5 (+5 cents), the average in sixths of a tone – and cyclically duplicated – between C#5 (-12 cents) and A5 (-45 cents), in tenths of a tone, to avoid unison – therefore return the Meta-Instrument of Iannis Xenakis. They are grids (scales) that evoke the systems, the ranges of intervals of ancient Greece, the East and Indonesia, to exhibit a structure and architecture that are timeless... and fundamental. 

They are powerful, poetic and unreal “Creators of the life of sound”. 

 

Artfully beaten, they spread nebulae of pulses. Granular clusters of sound events moving towards a statistically articulated sculpture of large numbers. Intense spectral interferences, harmonic halos and fundamental false, psychoacoustic phenomena and complex timbral sensations. They realise the indistinct "vertical" – "horizontal". The indeterminism of time that enters the musical edifice with dignity, colourfully structured and organised. 

 

They are objects of acoustic, physical, mathematical, musicological investigation”, coherent and universal syntheses of the sound experience in the past, present and future. 

They open gaps to auditory perception, widening it, until the original richness of the sound world is rediscovered, an infinite universe of sounds similar to those wonderful and natural phenomena: wind, hail, tides... the crackling of fire and the same clamour of the crowds. 

They are the Wunderinstrument of what we might call the Ur-Ton-Welt

 

Francesco Maria Paradiso, Milano 2021


Pitches

All six SIXXENs from A to F are composed of 19 metal bars which more or less equally divide an interval of an augmented fourth or, enharmonically, of a diminished fifth. In fact, the average extent of all SIXXENs is 626 cents. The cent is the unit of measurement of musical intervals and corresponds to one hundredth of a semitone; the octave, for example, has a magnitude of 1200 cents. The minimum distance between the first and last bar is 591 cents (for the SIXXEN B), while the maximum distance is 655 cents (for the SIXXEN E). 

 

The average interval between the single bars of the same set is 33 cents, i.e. one sixth of a tone, while the average distance between individual bars belonging to different sets is 24 cents, one tenth of a tone. To give an example, the lowest bar of the SIXXEN F is tuned to 550.66 Hz, i.e. the second C# (C#5) above middle C minus 12 cents, while the lowest bar of the SIXXEN E is tuned to 558.513 Hz, i.e. the second C# (C#5) above middle C plus 13 cents. The distance between them will therefore be 25 cents, precisely one tenth of a tone. The same distance can be found to scale, between the corresponding bars of the various SIXXEN, starting from the lowest F, up to the highest A. 

Spectrum

From the spectral analysis of the SIXXEN, 4 partials clearly emerge in addition to the fundamental, one perfectly harmonic and the others inharmonic. The first partial is the second natural harmonic, one octave above the fundamental (1200 cents). The second partial, in a ratio of 1:2.75, corresponding to an octave plus a rising fourth (1753 cents). The frequency of the third and fourth partial varies according to the bar: the lower the bar, the higher the partial in frequency. For the third partial, the ratios vary from 4.66:1 (lowest bar of the SIXXEN F) to 4.42:1 (highest bar of the SIXXEN A), while for the fourth the ratios are within the range 7.71:1 to 6.40:1. 

Spektrum of the lowest key of the Sixxen F

The first partial is in harmonic relationship with respect to the fundamental, being in whole number ratio, and its pitch is attributable to the longitudinal vibration of the bars. The second partial, in a ratio of 2.75:1, is precisely the second normal mode for transverse vibrations. The remaining two are not directly attributable to longitudinal or transverse vibration, but are presumably modulations of the latter. 

 

Giovanni Sparano, Italia 2021


If you are interested in our instruments or have any questions, please feel free to write to us under the heading Order.

We will answer your questions and gladly accept your orders.

Sixxen

Iannis Xenakis verlangt in seinem Schlagzeugsextett Pléiades (1979) nach einem besonderen Instrument, dem sogenannten Sixxen.

Der Name wurde vom Komponisten kreiert und entstand aus der Kombination der beiden Worte "Six" und "Xenakis". Sein Werk Pléiades gilt heute als einer der Meilensteine der Schlagzeugliteratur. Seine  Angaben was Sixxen sind und wie sie gestimmt beziehungsweise nicht gestimmt sein sollten, hat Iannis Xenakis in der Partitur vermerkt. Er schreibt, dass es für jeden der sechs Schlagzeuger (Spieler A bis F) jeweils 19 Metallklänge sein müssen, die weder chromatisch noch diatonisch gestimmt sein müssen. Jeder der Metallskalen sollte von Spieler zu Spieler nicht genau identisch sein sondern leicht variieren. 

Sixxen - LUNASON LINE

LUNASON hat sich mit den eigens entwickelten Sixxen klanglich in eine neue Richtung orientiert, da sie unter anderem als Metall nicht Eisen sondern Aluminiumplatten verwendet. Spielen alle Musiker gleichzeitig auf vielen verschiedenen Klangplatten, hört man zum einen die klaren Anschläge und, dank der exakt gleichbleibenden Frequenzen der einzelnen Platten, jede Note.

Zum anderen entsteht jedoch ein sogenannter "Drone", der diese LUNASON LINE so besonders macht. Da die Aluminiumplatten glockenartig voll und bei stärkerem anschlagen etwa 15 Sekunden nachklingen, entstehen zwischen den Liegetönen stark wahrnehmbare langanhaltende Interferenzen.

Unterstützt wird dieses besondere Klangerlebnis durch die Stimmung der Platten. Die Abstände von Ton zu Ton sind kleiner als Halbtonschritte jedoch grösser als Vierteltonschritte. Dadurch entsteht eine sehr natürlich empfundene Tonskala, die weniger komplex als Vierteltonskalen  jedoch fremder als gewohnte Halbtonskalen scheint.

Die sechs daraus resultierenden Skalen variieren von Sixxen A bis Sixxen F  sehr leicht, so dass wenn alle sechs Musiker die gleichen Töne auf ihren Sixxen spielen, wie von Xenakis gewünscht, zusätzlich leichte Interferenzen zwischen den Instrumenten entstehen.

Das Frequenzspektrum in dem die Sixxen - LUNASON LINE gestimmt sind liegt im Bereich CIS5 - G5. Diese für Sixxen eher hoch gewählte Frequenzbereich ist als Gegensatz insbesondere zu den deutlich tieferen Fellinstrumenten, die in Pléiades vorkommen, bewusst so gewählt worden. 

Klangbeispiel

Métaux aus Pléiades von Iannis Xenakis

Hier geht es zur CD: GENUIN / I tunes

Transportkiste

Innerhalb des "Metaklangs"

Die Sixxen von Lunason sind anti-akademische Schlaginstrumente!
Couleurs
gelbbraun, perlmutt – de la Binntal, für l´ouïr.  Systeme mit modularer Bauhöhe.

Vibrierend projizieren sie hyperbolische Parabeln von Schallmolekülen. Mikrotöne. Der Vorraum, Concret, aus der Tonbandkomposition von Iannis Xenakis.

Der Name SIXXEN setzt sich aus „SIX“ und „XENAKIS“ zusammen. Das SIX-XEN LUNASON ist ein Musikinstrument mit einem bestimmten Klang in einer Struktur aus sechs ursprünglichen Intervallbereichen. Das Timbre ist voll, aufregend und mit mysteriösen, lang anhaltenden Resonanzen. Das neue Klangbewusstsein. Ein Spiegelbild des Zeitgeistes.

Jahrelang für die sechs Perkussionisten der Plejaden (1978) gedacht, von den Semantra von Persephassa (1969) und den Chören der Oresteia (1965-1966) heraufbeschworen, ist es die Klangphysik eines vielgestaltigen Schöpfers, der permanente und einzigartige Metaklang – außerhalb von Zeit und Raum – der Galaxie von Iannis Xenakis.

 

Heutzutage mit der bedachten technischen Meisterschaft von Domenico Melchiorre und seiner LUNASON LINE rekonstruiert und interpretiert, ist es der menschliche Kontakt mit der „Natur des Klangs“. Ein unermessliches Echo der Ursprünge ... „Der überwältigende Eindruck, den ich hatte, als ich das Semantron im Kloster von Santa Lavra auf dem Peloponnes hörte.“ (Xenakis, 1955). Die Erweiterung eines alten und überraschenden Idiophons.

Drei Ellen, ab ovo, aus einem gebogenen und resonanten Buchenbalken oder aus einem dicken Eisenblech, das Noah dreimal am Tag nach Fertigstellung der Arche geschlagen hatte, um die Flut anzukündigen und die Seele zu reinigen. In allen orthodoxen Ländern werden in den griechisch-katholischen Gotteshäusern das griechische Semantron oder die rumänische Toacă an verschiedenen Stellen angeschlagen, um diese Architekturen mit einem langsamen rhythmischen Timbre zu füllen, das sich allmählich beschleunigt, dehnt, variiert, entwickelt und schließlich ausklingt, um in der Stille zu versinken, die Zeit zu begrenzen: Außerhalb der Zeit, In der Zeit, Zwischenzeitlich ... und den Raum der (liturgischen) Aktion und des Täglichen zu begrenzen.

 

Die Sixxen bilden eine Verschmelzung von Kunst und Wissenschaft zur Komposition der Kultur. Musikinstrumente, die in gleicher Weise die menschliche Intelligenz und das, „was ist“, im Klang ausdrücken. „Es ist nicht das Ohr, das hört, sondern der Intellekt, der versteht.“ Zu Stil gewordenes Kalkül.

Radikale Erweiterungen. Die Quantisierung kontinuierlicher mathematischer Funktionen. Die Wiedergabe und „Vertonung“ eines viel allgemeineren Gedankens: die reine Logik, die Logik der Zahlen, sogar die Logik der Intuition.

 

Le son Sixxen – Architektur wird zu Klang, Aluminium wird zu Klang und der Klang – metallisiert. Les Chances und die stochastische Musik führen im Einklang die außerzeitliche Struktur wieder ein.

Die neunzehn Klangplatten (Sixxen F) mit unregelmäßig verteilten Frequenzen von C#5 (-12 Cent) bis G5 (+ 5 Cent) – der Durchschnitt in Sechsteln eines Tons – und zyklisch duplizierten Frequenzen zwischen C#5 (-12 Cent) und A5 (-45 Cent) in Zehnteln eines Tons, um Gleichklang zu vermeiden, geben daher das Meta-Instrument von Iannis Xenakis wieder. Es sind Raster (Skalen), die an die Systeme, die Intervallbereiche des antiken Griechenlands, des Orients und Indonesiens erinnern, um eine zeitlose und fundamentale Struktur und Architektur zu zeigen.

 

Sie sind kraftvolle, poetische und unwirkliche „Schöpfer des Klanglebens“.

Kunstvoll geschlagen verbreiten sie Nebel voller Impulse. Kristalline Cluster von Klangereignissen in Bewegung zu einer Skulptur aus statistisch artikulierten großen Zahlen. Intensive spektrale Interferenzen, harmonische Lichthöfe und falsche Grundtöne, psychoakustische Phänomene und komplexe Klangeindrücke. Sie realisieren das verschwommene „vertikal“ – „horizontal“. Der Indeterminismus des „in tempo“, der würdevoll, farbig strukturiert und organisiert in das Klanggebäude eintritt.

 

Es sind Objekte akustischer, physikalischer, mathematischer, musikwissenschaftlicher Betrachtungen“, kohärente und universelle Synthesen der Klangerfahrung in Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft.

Sie eröffnen Wege zur akustischen Wahrnehmung, erweitern sie, bis der ursprüngliche Reichtum der Klangwelt wiederentdeckt wird, ein unendliches Universum von Klängen, die in jeder Hinsicht jenen wunderbaren Naturphänomenen ähneln: dem Wind, dem Hagel, den Gezeiten ... dem Knistern des Feuers und dem Tumult der Menschenmengen.

Sie sind das Wunderinstrument der sogenannten Ur-Ton-Welt.

 

Francesco Maria Paradiso, Mailand 2021

 


Höhen

Alle sechs SIXXEN von A bis F bestehen aus 19 Metallplatten, die mehr oder weniger gleichmäßig ein Intervall der übermäßigen Quarte oder – enharmonisch – der verminderten Quinte teilen. Tatsächlich beträgt der durchschnittliche Frequenzbereich aller SIXXEN 626 Cent. Der Cent ist die Maßeinheit für musikalische Intervalle und entspricht einem Hundertstel eines Halbtons – die Oktave hat beispielsweise eine Größe von 1200 Cent. Der Mindestabstand zwischen der ersten und der letzten Platte beträgt 591 Cent (SIXXEN B), während der Höchstabstand 655 Cent (SIXXEN E) beträgt.

 

Der durchschnittliche Intervallabstand zwischen den einzelnen Platten desselben Sets beträgt 33 Cent oder ein Sechstel eines Tons, während der durchschnittliche Abstand zwischen einzelnen Platten, die zu verschiedenen Sets gehören, 24 Cent oder ein Zehntel eines Tons beträgt. Als Beispiel ist die tiefste Platte des SIXXEN F auf 550,66 Hz gestimmt – das zweite C# (C#5) über dem mittleren C minus 12 Cent – , während die tiefste Platte des SIXXEN E auf 558,513 Hz gestimmt ist – das zweite C# (C#5) über dem mittleren C plus 13 Cent. Der Abstand zwischen ihnen beträgt also 25 Cent, genau ein Zehntel eines Tons. Der gleiche Abstand findet sich in der Skala zwischen den entsprechenden Platten der verschiedenen SIXXEN – beginnend mit dem tiefsten F bis zum höchsten A.

 

Spektrum

Aus der Spektralanalyse von SIXXEN gehen neben dem Grundton deutlich 4 Teiltöne hervor, von denen einer vollkommen harmonisch und die anderen unharmonisch sind. Der erste Teilton ist der zweite natürliche Oberton, eine Oktave oberhalb des Grundtons (1200 Cent). Der zweite Teilton – im Verhältnis 1:2,75 – entspricht einer Oktave plus einer steigenden Quarte (1753 Cent). Die Frequenz der dritten und vierten Teiltöne variiert je nach Platte: je schwerer die Platte, desto höher der Teilton in der Frequenz. Für den dritten Teilbereich reichen die Verhältnisse von 4,66:1 (tiefste Platte von SIXXEN F) bis 4,42:1 (tiefste Platte von SIXXEN A), während für den vierten Teilbereich die Verhältnisse im Bereich von 7,71:1 bis 6,40:1 liegen.

 

Spektrum der tiefsten Platte von Sixxen F

Der erste Teilton steht in harmonischer Beziehung zum Grundton, der im ganzzahligen Verhältnis steht und dessen Höhe auf die Längsschwingung der Platten zurückgeführt werden kann. Der zweite Teil in einem Verhältnis von 2,75: 1 ist der zweite Normalmodus für Querschwingungen. Die beiden anderen sind nicht direkt der Längs- oder Querschwingung zuzuordnen, sondern vermutlich Modulationen dieser letztgenannten.

Giovanni Sparano, Italia 2021


Falls Sie an unseren Instrumenten interessiert sind oder Fragen haben, können Sie uns gerne unter der Rubrik Bestellung schreiben. Wir werden Ihre Fragen beantworten und Ihre Bestellungen gerne entgegennehmen.