Spica

Spicas are metal rods. They are based on a special alloy and refinement. On the top and bottom side they have grooves of 2 millimetres in height at intervals of 15 millimetres. They are suspended at two points from a suspension device which was designed so that a mallet can be pulled over the instrument along its entire length without getting in the way.

If you strike the spica with a hard mallet, a very bright tone will sound for about 5 seconds. A basic frequency is audible. Due to the surface structure of the spica, however, the overtone spectrum is very rich and colorful and adds a uniquely brilliant sound tail to the fundamental. If one interrupts the sound after striking it by abruptly damping it, one can hear sound flashes, as if they were produced electronically.

Spica S

The Spica S consists of five metal rods. The set of five is tuned microtonally. The frequency spectrum in which the Spicas sound is in the range of G5 and A5. If you strike them quickly one after the other so that the vibrations interfere, a spectral buzzing can be heard. This whirring is supported by the sound spectra of the individual spicas, which are rich in overtones. 

Video of the notation examples

Notation examples of the video


If you are interested in our instruments or have any questions, please feel free to write to us under the heading Order.

We will gladly answer your questions and take your orders.

Spica

Spicas sind Metallstäbe. Ihnen liegen eine besondere Legierung und Veredlung zu Grunde. An der Ober- und Unterseite haben sie im Abstand von je 15 Millimeter, 2 Millimeter hohe Rillen. Sie hängen an zwei Punkten an einer Aufhängevorrichtung, die so konzipiert wurde, dass man, ohne in die Quere der Vorrichtung zu kommen, einen Schlegel der gesamten Länge über das Instrument ziehen kann.

Schlägt man die Spica mit einem harten Schlegel an, so erklingt ein sehr heller, etwa 5 Sekunden lang schwingender Ton. Es ist eine Grundfrequenz hörbar. Aufgrund der Oberflächenbeschaffenheit der Spica ist das Obertonspektrum jedoch sehr reich und farbig und fügt dem Grundton einen einzigartig brillanten Klangschweif hinzu. Unterbricht man die Töne nach dem Anschlagen durch abruptes Abdämpfen, erklingen, wie auf elektronische Art und Weise erzeugte, Klangblitze.

Spica S

Die Spica S besteht aus fünf Metallstäben. Das Fünfer-Set ist mikrotonal gestimmt. Das Frequenzspektrum in dem die Spicas erklingen liegt im Bereich von G5 und A5. Schlägt man sie schnell nacheinander an, so dass die Schwingungen interferieren, wird ein spektrales Schwirren hörbar. Unterstützt wird dieses Schwirren von den obertonreichen Klangspektren der einzelnen Spicas. 

Video der Notationsbeispiele

Notationsbeispiele zum Video


Falls Sie an unseren Instrumenten interessiert sind oder Fragen haben, können Sie uns gerne unter der Rubrik Bestellung schreiben. Wir werden Ihre Fragen gerne beantworten und Ihre Bestellungen gerne entgegennehmen.