«The company LUNASON is developing a progressive set of instruments. In its philosophy it combines the passion in the exploration of noble sound worlds with the uniqueness of its creations. It stands for innovation and quality in the music of our time.»  Domenico Melchiorre, research and development, founder

Manifest

The LUNASON Sound

Singing material, living sound

Lunason sounds are Anti-academic Sounds! 

 

Emitted by the instruments designed by Domenico Melchiorre, they are the best contemporary transition towards the integral sound music of a Present that is already the Future. Any sound is acceptable to the ear of someone who composes music for percussion instruments. The same is true for whoever, in the measure possible, explores the “non-musical” sound field excluded by the Academy: the sounds of the world. 

 

Special metals, tooled, shaped, sculpted, shocked, tortured and, finally, chained to a “support” and chromed, become instruments capable of making sounds by vibrating; they become song, harmony, the phenomenon of sound perception; they convey a rhythm and space, and are pure sound spectrum. They are energy, direction and relationship between parts. 

 

Lunason instruments are evolutions of ancient beaten holes, pounded instruments, percussion sticks, pipes, drums and scrapers. They are musical instruments with an original design; objects and tools that have changed their life and function. Over time, they have become instruments of sound. They are witnesses to its beauty and mastery, material that singsliving sound

 

The NicophonePyrablockKawaphoneSixxenSpicaGaiabells and Bassdesmophone – and all other types of Lunason that will come – are “persons”. They are subjects of an action and a know-how. 

 

They are “creators of the life of the sound”, animated and designed beings, composed of special alloys from essentially simple material, rendered precious by the work that has bent it, tormented it and torn it apart. They are unique creations, artfully made for musicians and listeners. 

 

They are “marvellous objects” and the real human beings, who draw the sound worlds from the instruments, are their “appendages”.

They are “objects of acoustic, physical, mathematical and musicological research”, universals of sound experience and symbols of an anthropology in which nature and culture mutually interpenetrate. 

 

Lunason, instruments are therefore a “cultural asset”. As with any musical instrument, they are objects based on a relationship that musicians seek to establish between themselves and the sound material they directly manipulate in its physicality. They draw on various fields of human knowledge: archaeology, philosophy, physics and engineering, geography, iconology, paleo-anthropology, psychology, religion, sociology and history. 

 

These “music-making” instruments are, above all, a subject-asset, the living product of Domenico Melchiorre, a refined artisan, maker and theorist. They are also an object-asset, “noble objects” to be preserved and analysed in specific studies and musical institutions. 

 

The timpanist Domenico Melchiorre has enduring relationships with various professional figures in the world of music. Our solid collaboration, for over twenty years, does not exclude his discussions with numerous talented musicians, and constant commitment and study. 

 

Lunason instruments are signs of civilisation and a changing society. It has reached the furthest limit of a historical saturation fraught with contradictions and enclosed within the absolute dominion of technology. Lunason instruments are gold mines of information, also aesthetically, as those who know the appeal of an iconological and iconographic approach to organology are aware. 

 

With these musical instruments, you can dwell on their presence in the listener’s poetic imagination, or underline the instrument’s cognitive and symbolic value when seen as an emblem of the mysterious correspondence between shape and sound. 

 

They create openings for auditory perception, expanding it until the original richness of the sound world is rediscovered, an infinite, expanding universe of sounds which we could call the Ur-Ton-Welt. They have a specific character that emphasises the poetic trait potentially emanated by a musical instrument: the origin of musical language and the mystery of the creation of art.

 

Francesco Maria Paradiso, Milan 2020

«Die Firma LUNASON entwickelt ein progressives Instrumentarium. In ihrer Philosophie vereint sie die Leidenschaft bei der Erforschung edler Klangwelten mit der Einzigartigkeit ihrer Kreationen. Sie steht für Innovation und Qualität in der Musik unserer Zeit.»  Domenico Melchiorre, Forschung und Entwicklung, Gründer

MANIFEST

Der LUNASON-KLANG

Singende Materie, lebendiger Klang

Die Klänge von Lunason sind Anti-akademische Klänge! 

Die Klänge der Instrumente, die von Domenico Melchiorre entworfen wurden, sind der beste zeitgenössische Übergang zur integralen Klangmusik einer Gegenwart, die bereits Zukunft ist. Jeder Klang ist für das Ohr eines Menschen interessant, der Musik für Schlaginstrumente komponiert. Das gilt auch für alle, die das „nicht-musikalische“ Klangfeld erforschen, das von der Akademie nicht gewürdigt wird: die Klänge der Welt. 

Metalle werden bearbeitet, verkrümmt, geformt, behauen, geschockt, gefoltert und schließlich an einem Unterbau befestigt und verchromt. So werden sie  zu Instrumenten, die vibrierende Klänge erzeugen. Sie werden zum Lied, zur Harmonie, zum Phänomen der Klangwahrnehmung; sie erzählen Rhythmen und Räume, sie sind als pures Klangspektrum anzusehen. Sie erzeugen Energie, Richtung, Beziehung zwischen Teilen. 

Die Lunason-Instrumente sind Weiterentwicklungen von antiken Instrumenten, Schlägeln, Pfeifen, Trommeln und Schabern. Sie sind Musikinstrumente mit einem originellen Design. Es sind Gegenstände und Werkzeuge, die ihr Leben und ihre Funktion verändert haben. Im Laufe der Zeit sind sie zu Klanginstrumenten geworden. Zeugen der Schönheit und Beherrschung derselben, singende Materie, lebendiger Klang

Die Instrumente NicophonePyrablockKawaphoneSixxenSpicaGaiabellsBassdesmophone und alle Arten von Lunason-Instrumenten, die noch kommen werden - sind „Personen“. Personen eines Handels und Könnens. 

Sie sind „Schöpfer des Klanglebens“, lebhafte und gedankliche Wesen, die sich aus speziellen Legierungen zusammensetzen; aus einem Material, das an sich arm ist und wertvoll gemacht wird durch die Arbeit, die es verformt, gequält, auseinandergerissen hat. Es sind einzigartige Kreationen, die kunstvoll für Musiker und Zuhörer entwickelt wurden. 

Es handelt sich um „wunderbare Gegenstände“ und die realen Menschen, die durch die Instrumente die Klangwelten nutzen, sind deren „Anhänge“. 

Es sind „Gegenstände von akustischen, physikalischen, mathematischen, musikwissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen“, Universalien der Klangerfahrung, Symbole einer Anthropologie, in der Natur und Kultur ineinander verschmelzen. 

Lunason-Instrumente sind daher als „Kulturgut“ anzusehen. Gegenstände, die sich wie jedes Musikinstrument auf ein Verhältnis beziehen, das der Musiker zwischen sich selbst und der Klangmaterie herzustellen versucht, die er direkt mit seiner Körperlichkeit manipuliert. Sie stützen sich auf verschiedene Bereiche des menschlichen Wissens: Archäologie, Philosophie, Physik und Technik, Geographie, Ikonologie, Paläoanthropologie, Psychologie, Religion, Soziologie und Geschichte. 

Diese Instrumente des „Musizierens“ sind vor allem als Subjekte anzusehen, als lebendiges Produkt von Domenico Melchiorre, einem raffinierten Handwerker, Baumeister und Theoretiker. Sie sind auch „edle“ Objekte, die im Rahmen spezifischer Studien und Musikinstitutionen aufbewahrt und analysiert werden sollten. 

Der Timpanist Domenico Melchiorre ist in der Lage, dauerhafte Beziehungen zu verschiedenen Berufsprofilen im Musikbereich aufrechtzuerhalten. Unsere, seit mehr als zwanzig Jahren solide Zusammenarbeit, schließt seine Konfrontation mit vielen und erfahrenen Musikern, das ständige Engagement und ein kontinuierliches Studium nicht aus. 

Lunason-Instrumente sind Zeichen der Zivilisation und einer sich verändernden Gesellschaft. Diese hat die äußerste Grenze einer historischen Sättigung erreicht, die voller Widersprüche ist, gefangen in der absoluten Herrschaft der Technik. Lunason-Instrumente sind Informationsquellen, welche, auch in ästhetischer Hinsicht, die Faszination einer ikonologischen und ikonografischen Herangehensweise an die Organologie genutzt haben. 

Sie öffnen Passagen zur auditiven Wahrnehmung und erweitern diese, bis der ursprüngliche Reichtum der Klangwelt wiederentdeckt wird, ein unendliches Universum bestehend aus Klängen, das sich ausdehnt und das wir als Ur-Ton-Welt bezeichnen könnten. Sie haben einen spezifischen Charakter, der das poetische Merkmal hervorhebt, das möglicherweise von einem Musikinstrument ausgeht: Ursprung der musikalischen Sprache und Rätsel in der Schaffung von Kunst. 

Wie John Cage mit Weisheit schrieb: „Perkussion ist vollständige Offenheit. Sie ist nicht nur unbegrenzt. Sie ist unendlich. Sie hat nichts mit Streichern, Holzbläsern oder Blechbläsern zu tun (ich denke an Orchesterinstrumente), auch wenn diese Instrumente, wenn sie aus dem Hühnerstall der Harmonie ausbrechen würden, noch etwas von der Perkussion lernen könnten. Wenn man nicht zuhört um „Musik zu hören“, hört man in der Perkussion die echten Klänge, einen nach dem anderen. Und das überall, zu Hause und draußen, in der Stadt und außerhalb der Stadt. Nur auf diesem Planeten?1“. John Cage, New York City, August 1989. 

Francesco Maria Paradiso, Mailand 2020 

page2image52603392

„Percussion is completely open. It is not even open-ended. It has no end. It is not like strings, the winds, the brass (I am thinking of the other sections of the orchestra), though when they fly the coop of harmony it can teach them a thing or two. If you are not hearing music, percussion is exemplified by the very next sound you actually hear wherever you are, in or out of doors or city, Planet?“